GCU currently offers two acute care nurse practitioner pathways that lead to national certification eligibility, both in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care (AGACNP):
- MSN
- Post-MSN
GCU also offers a Bridge (MSN: ACNP with an Emphasis in Adult-Gerontology) pathway. This is a common point of confusion: the bridge is not an AGACNP program. It is 24 credits of undergraduate-level nursing coursework for RNs whose bachelor’s degree is in another field, taken to qualify for the MSN. It contains no acute care content and no acute care clinical hours.
Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN – AGACNP | $40,280 | 8-week courses | 53 |
| Post-MSN Certificate – AGACNP | $28,120 | 16-week courses | 37 |
| Bridge to MSN (prerequisite pathway, not an ACNP program) | $8,280 | 5-week courses | 24 |
Tuition figures are calculated from GCU’s published 2026-27 per-credit rates and published credit totals. They exclude mandatory course fees, which are substantial (see Tuition).
The defining feature is clinical volume: both certification pathways require 750 supervised clinical hours, delivered as three 250-hour practicum courses. That matches the National Task Force 6th-edition benchmark of 750 direct patient care hours and exceeds ANCC’s 500 faculty-supervised-hour minimum for AGACNP-BC eligibility by 250 hours.
The biggest trade-off is geography. The program is available in only 16 states (MSN) or 14 states (certificate), all practicum must be completed locally in the state where you’re enrolled, and GCU commits to supporting and approving your placement, but not to securing or guaranteeing one.
Quick Facts
| Program Types | MSN, Post-Master’s Certificate (plus a non-ACNP bridge pathway) |
| Population Focus | Adult-Gerontology Acute Care (AGACNP) only |
| Format | Online coursework; in-person local practicum; two required campus visits |
| Campus Visits | Two, both in Phoenix: one 3-day, one 2-day |
| Clinical Hours | 750 specialty practicum hours (3 × 250) in both pathways |
| Clinical Placement | Student-identified site, GCU-approved and supported. Not guaranteed. |
| Placement Location | Must be completed in the state where you are located at enrollment |
| RN Experience (MSN) | Minimum one year of recent full-time RN experience, required at application |
| ICU/Critical Care Experience | Not published as a requirement or a stated preference |
| Skills/Simulation | Suturing, incision, intubation, casting, catheter insertion, lumbar puncture, radiology interpretation, ventilator management |
| Certification | ANCC AGACNP-BC or AACN ACNPC-AG |
| Published Pass Rate | 85% for all 2025 testers (88 of 103) |
| Accreditation | HLC (institutional); CCNE (MSN and post-graduate APRN certificate) |
| State Availability (MSN) | AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, MI, MO, NV, NM, NC, PA, TX, VA |
| State Availability (Certificate) | Same list, minus Indiana and Virginia |
| Application Requirements | No essay, no application fee |
MSN: Acute Care Nurse Practitioner with an Emphasis in Adult-Gerontology
53 credits. Calculated tuition of about $40,280 at the 2026-27 rate of $760 per credit, before fees.
GCU does not publish a total completion time: only that MSN courses run 8 weeks. Twelve credit-bearing courses taken one at a time at 8 weeks each would run roughly 24 months; taking courses concurrently would shorten that considerably.
The most important eligibility distinction: you need one year of recent full-time RN experience at the time you apply, but GCU does not publish any acute care, ICU, or emergency department experience requirement.
MSN Curriculum
The 53 credits split cleanly into two blocks:
Non-clinical core and APRN core (32 credits, eight 4-credit courses). Four courses cover advanced nursing role, organizational leadership and informatics, translational research and population health, and an evidence-based practice project. These are standard graduate nursing courses and are summarized here rather than detailed. The other four are the APRN core that certification bodies require: advanced physiology and pathophysiology (NUR-631), advanced pharmacology (NUR-635), advanced health assessment and diagnostic reasoning with skills lab (NUR-634), and health promotion and maintenance (ANP-635A), which carries the first campus intensive.
Acute care specialty sequence (21 credits, three 7-credit courses). This is where the AGACNP preparation lives:
| Course | Credits | Practicum Hours | Focus |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANP-650A – Adult-Gerontology Acute Care I | 7 | 250 | Acutely ill adults with comorbidities; differential diagnosis; restorative care |
| ANP-652A – Adult-Gerontology Acute Care II | 7 | 250 | Systems-based management; evolving clinical status; complex acute conditions |
| ANP-654A – Adult-Gerontology Acute Care III | 7 | 250 | Complex, critically ill, and frail older adults; life-threatening problems |
A few things worth noting about how this curriculum is built.
The specialty sequence is three linked courses in a strict prerequisite chain, each combining didactic content with 250 practicum hours. There is no separate practicum course. Clinical and classroom work are integrated and progress together from acute to critical acuity.
The published curriculum does not show standalone courses in trauma, emergency medicine, cardiology, rhythm interpretation, or mechanical ventilation. Course descriptions reference procedural skill acquisition, systems-based management, and life-threatening health problems, and the campus intensives explicitly cover intubation and ventilator management. But if you’re comparing against programs with dedicated trauma or critical care courses, GCU’s structure is different: high-acuity content is embedded across three broad courses rather than broken out by specialty. GCU does not state that these topics are absent — only that they don’t appear as named courses.
Pharmacology (NUR-635) is a lifespan course covering cardiovascular, endocrine, respiratory, infectious, and other drug classes. It is not an acute-care-specific pharmacology course.
View the full MSN course list on GCU’s program page.
MSN Clinical Requirements
750 supervised clinical hours, all direct patient care, delivered as three 250-hour practicum blocks tied to ANP-650A, ANP-652A, and ANP-654A. GCU publishes no separate project or indirect-hour requirement at the master’s level, so the full 750 is specialty patient contact.
For context: ANCC requires a minimum of 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours for AGACNP-BC eligibility. GCU’s 750 exceeds that by 250 hours and aligns with the National Task Force 6th-edition standard of 750 direct patient care hours.
GCU describes AGACNP practice settings as including medical, surgical, cardiac, burn, and trauma ICUs; emergency care; skilled nursing facilities; and specialty clinics such as cardiology, neurology, gastroenterology, interventional radiology, and surgery centers. GCU does not publish a required rotation mix or a minimum number of ICU or emergency hours for its students.
Placement responsibility is the single most important thing to understand here. GCU’s Office of Field Experience states that field experience specialists “support you in setting up your clinical/practicum experience,” assist with the practicum application, confirm you meet site health and safety requirements, and approve “selected site for field experience.” The language of approving a selected site indicates the student identifies the site and preceptor and GCU vets it. This is support, not procurement, and it is not a guarantee.
Two geographic constraints compound this. First, all field/practicum hours must be completed in person and locally. Second, GCU’s policy handbook states students are expected to complete field placements in the state where they are located at the time of enrollment; placement in a different state requires disclosure to your Student Services Counselor and is not assured.
Practically: if you already work in a hospital system with AGACNPs who precept, this model works well and lets you train where you live. If you don’t have those relationships, budget real time and effort to secure three sequential preceptors covering 750 hours in the acute and critical care settings you want.
MSN Campus Requirements
Two required in-person visits to GCU’s Phoenix campus, both delivered as zero-credit companion courses:
| Visit | Course | Length | Timing | Purpose |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First | ANP-635ACE | 3 days | Before the practicum sequence begins | Hands-on skills simulation, diagnostic evaluation, differential diagnosis and treatment planning |
| Second | ANP-654ACE | 2 days | During the final specialty course | Practice-readiness assessment; simulated scenarios; scope of practice, prescriptive authority, credentialing |
GCU’s certificate page details what the first intensive covers procedurally: suturing, incision, intubation, casting, catheter insertion, lumbar puncture, radiology interpretation, and ventilator management. For an online program, that is a meaningful concentration of high-acuity procedural exposure, and it is compressed into three days.
The travel commitment is modest compared with programs requiring four or more immersions: five total days in Phoenix across the program, plus airfare and lodging, which GCU does not include in tuition.
MSN Admissions
- Current, unencumbered, unrestricted RN license
- Minimum of one year of recent full-time RN work experience — required to be eligible to apply, not deferred to the start of clinicals
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing (or completion of the bridge pathway)
- Admission via minimum GPA or GMAT/GRE scores; GCU notes some programs require a higher GPA
- Official transcripts
- No personal statement or essay; no application fee
- Transfer credit: up to 12 credits or one-third of program requirements, whichever is less
- Available in 16 states: AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, MI, MO, NV, NM, NC, PA, TX, VA
Two points deserve emphasis for acute care applicants.
GCU publishes no acute care, ICU, or ED experience requirement, and does not list it as preferred. A year of any full-time RN practice satisfies the stated bar. Programs vary widely here; some AGACNP programs require a year of documented critical care experience. If you are coming from med-surg, home health, or long-term care, GCU’s stated requirements do not exclude you. That is genuinely an access advantage.
Applicants without prior high-acuity experience should consider whether beginning AGACNP clinical training without an ICU, ED, or other acute-care background fits their level of preparation.
GCU does not publish application deadlines or fixed start terms for these programs. Online courses start on a rolling basis. Confirm your intended start date directly.
Post-MSN: ACNP with an Emphasis in Adult-Gerontology Certificate
37 credits. Calculated tuition of about $28,120 at $760 per credit, before fees. Requires a completed master’s degree in nursing. GCU publishes 16-week course length but no total completion time.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is the MSN minus its four non-clinical core courses (advanced nursing role, leadership and informatics, translational research, EBP project which is 16 credits of the 53).
Everything else is identical:
- NUR-631 Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology (4)
- NUR-635 Advanced Pharmacology (4)
- NUR-634 Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning with Skills Lab (4)
- ANP-635A Health Promotion and Maintenance + ANP-635ACE (4 + 0)
- ANP-650A / ANP-652A / ANP-654A Adult-Gerontology Acute Care I–III + ANP-654ACE (7 + 7 + 7 + 0)
That structure matters. Certificate students do not get a shortened clinical or specialty experience. They complete the same three 250-hour practicum courses and the same two campus intensives.
What they skip is the graduate core they already completed in their master’s. The savings is approximately $12,160 in tuition and 16 credits of coursework.
Note that GCU’s certificate page opens by describing the program as providing “a focus in chronic condition care,” which sits oddly against the acute care curriculum. Further down the same page it clarifies the focus is adult and geriatric acute care patients, sub-acute patients, and exacerbations of chronic disease. The curriculum itself is unambiguously acute care.
View the certificate curriculum on GCU’s program page.
Certificate Clinical and Campus Requirements
Identical to the MSN: 750 directly supervised clinical hours and two required Phoenix intensives. GCU states these hours are set “to align with national norms,” and notes clinical, practicum, and immersion hours are completed locally.
The same placement model applies: student-identified, GCU-approved, not guaranteed.
The certificate page describes the first intensive’s procedural content in more detail than the MSN page does, listing suturing, incision, intubation, casting, catheter insertion, lumbar puncture, radiology interpretation, and ventilator management. Both pathways attend the same intensives.
Certificate Admissions
- Current, active RN license
- Master of Science in Nursing (GCU does not require an existing APRN certification or a specific prior population focus)
- Official transcripts
- Transfer credit: up to 12 credits or one-third of program requirements, whichever is less
- Available in 14 states: AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, ID, IL, MI, MO, NV, NM, NC, PA, TX
- Indiana and Virginia are not included, though both are available for the MSN
GCU does not publish an RN experience requirement on the certificate page. The MSN page states one year of recent full-time RN experience is required; the certificate page is silent. Verify this with an admissions counselor rather than assuming either way.
The transfer-credit policy is worth exploring if you hold a recent MSN. Up to 12 credits (one-third of 37 is 12.3, so 12 is the cap) could be applied — most plausibly toward NUR-631, NUR-634, or NUR-635 if you completed equivalent APRN core courses. At $760 per credit, that is up to $9,120. GCU directs prospective students to the Lopes Eval for a credit evaluation. GCU does not publish which specific courses are eligible, so treat this as a question to resolve before you enroll.
Bridge (MSN: ACNP with an Emphasis in Adult-Gerontology)
24 credits. Calculated tuition of about $8,280 at the 2026-27 undergraduate rate of $345 per credit. Courses run 5 weeks.
This pathway is for RNs who hold a bachelor’s degree in a non-nursing field. It is undergraduate-level prerequisite coursework that qualifies you to apply to the MSN — it does not itself confer a degree, a specialty, or AGACNP preparation.
Coursework: NRS-415 Nursing Leadership and Interprofessional Collaboration (3), NRS-420 Health Assessment (3), NRS-425 Health Promotion and Population Health (3), NRS-455 Pathophysiology (3), HLT-362V Applied Statistics (3), NRS-445 Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice (3), NRS-465 Applied Evidence-Based Project and Practicum (6).
NRS-465 includes 40 clinical hours, dedicated to baccalaureate-level leadership and community health objectives. These are not acute care hours and do not count toward the MSN’s 750.
Admissions and limits:
- Current, active RN license
- Bachelor’s degree in a non-nursing field
- Transfer credit: up to 90 credits, of which no more than 84 may be lower division
- Offered in only six states: AZ, CO, FL, NM, NV, TX
The six-state footprint is the practical constraint. If you need the bridge and live outside those states, the MSN is not accessible to you through this route regardless of whether your state appears on the MSN’s list.
Total cost through this route, calculated: roughly $8,280 (bridge) + $40,280 (MSN) = about $48,560 in tuition, before fees.
Tuition and Fees
GCU publishes 2026-27 online rates effective for courses beginning September 1, 2026:
| Program level | 2026-27 rate | 2025-26 rate |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced Practice Nursing (MSN, Post-MSN Certificate) | $760 per credit | $750 per credit |
| RN to BSN / bridge undergraduate courses | $345 per credit | $340 per credit |
Rates do not vary by state residency. Calculated tuition totals:
| Pathway | Credits | Rate | Calculated tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN – AGACNP | 53 | $760 | $40,280 |
| Post-MSN Certificate – AGACNP | 37 | $760 | $28,120 |
| Bridge to MSN | 24 | $345 | $8,280 |
These are our calculations from GCU’s published rate and published credit totals, not university-published totals. They assume the current rate holds for the full program and do not account for future increases.
Mandatory fees materially change the picture
Fees to budget for: GCU charges advanced practice nursing students a Canyon Connect fee of $450–$500 per course, plus a $35 per-course technology fee, plus a one-time $550 Learning Management Service Fee for new online students. The MSN has 12 credit-bearing courses; the certificate has 7. Calculated, that adds roughly $6,400–$7,000 to the MSN and $3,900–$4,300 to the certificate (on top of tuition). GCU does not specify whether the zero-credit on-campus experience courses also carry the fee, so treat these as minimums.
Applied to the MSN, that brings realistic total direct cost to roughly $46,700–$47,300, or about 16% above the tuition-only figure. Confirm exact fee assessment with a counselor; this is the single largest gap between GCU’s advertised per-credit rate and what you will actually pay.
Additional costs GCU does not include: travel, lodging, and meals for five days of required Phoenix intensives; and a $150 graduation fee.
Financial aid relevant to these pathways
GCU’s published scholarship list contains no scholarship that applies to the MSN or Post-MSN AGACNP programs. The graduate scholarships listed are restricted to education programs and cooperating teachers; the doctoral alumni award applies only to doctoral programs.
Two items do apply:
- Bridge students only: the New Online Undergraduate Nursing Student Scholarship gives 5% off tuition per course, applied specifically to the undergraduate courses in a Bridge to MSN pathway. On 24 credits at $345, that is about $414. It cannot be combined with other GCU scholarships.
- Active duty, active reserve, National Guard, and military spouses: an effective graduate rate of $400 per credit after scholarship, applied via a signed Memorandum of Understanding with supporting documentation. That is a meaningful reduction: 53 credits at $400 is $21,200 versus $40,280, a difference of about $19,080.
FAFSA-based federal aid applies to the degree programs. Certificate students should verify federal aid eligibility for a post-master’s certificate directly, as eligibility rules differ from degree programs.
GCU’s online and evening tuition page | GCU’s fee schedule
Why Choose This ACNP Program?
Best suited for: an experienced RN in one of GCU’s approved states who already has a hospital network capable of supplying three sequential acute care preceptors, and who wants 750 clinical hours without a critical care experience prerequisite.
Access without a critical care gate
GCU’s published requirement is one year of recent full-time RN experience. There is no stated acute care, ICU, or ED requirement, and none listed as preferred. For an RN whose background is med-surg, step-down, telemetry, or long-term care, this removes a barrier that some AGACNP programs impose.
Whether that is good for you depends on your honest self-assessment. The program will put you in a 250-hour practicum managing acutely ill adults with comorbidities within a few courses. If you’ve never managed an unstable patient, you’ll be building that judgment during clinicals rather than bringing it in.
Clinical volume you can verify
750 hours, structured as three equal 250-hour blocks, entirely direct patient care with no project or indirect hours diluting the total. That’s 250 hours above the ANCC certification minimum and equal to the NTF 6th-edition direct-care standard.
The 2025 first-attempt-inclusive pass rate GCU publishes: 85%, 88 of 103 testers.
Placement is your project, not GCU’s
This is the deciding factor for most applicants. GCU’s Office of Field Experience approves your selected site, confirms health and safety requirements, and counsels you through the process. It does not promise to find your preceptor. Combine that with the rule that placements happen in the state where you enrolled, and the practical question becomes: can I personally line up three acute care preceptors near me?
If you already have access to appropriate AGACNP preceptors through your employer or professional network, this placement model may be easier to manage. Applicants without those connections should plan for the work involved in identifying three sequential preceptors.
Procedural exposure in five campus days
Suturing, intubation, lumbar puncture, chest procedures, casting, catheter insertion, radiology interpretation, and ventilator management are explicitly named as content in the campus intensives.
It is also delivered in three days, followed by a two-day competency assessment near the end. Five days total in Phoenix is a light travel burden. Whether five days is enough procedural repetition for you is a judgment call, and it argues for choosing practicum sites that will let you keep practicing those skills.
The Verdict
The strongest reason to choose GCU is a combination that is hard to assemble elsewhere: 750 direct-care hours, a one-year general RN experience bar, no essay or application fee, and only five days of required travel — all at a fixed $760 per credit regardless of where you live. If you’re an experienced RN in an approved state with preceptor access already in hand, or an MSN-prepared nurse looking to add the acute care population focus for a calculated $28,120 plus fees, the fit is good.
Compare other options if any of the following apply. You live outside GCU’s 14–16 approved states, or in Kansas or Louisiana, where GCU’s own disclosures classify the program as restricted for enrollment. You cannot personally secure acute care preceptors and need a program that places you. You want dedicated coursework in trauma, cardiology, rhythm interpretation, or mechanical ventilation rather than those topics embedded in three broad courses. Or your budget was built on the advertised per-credit rate — the $6,400–$7,000 in mandatory MSN course fees is not optional and is easy to miss.
Accreditation and Certification
Institutional accreditation. Grand Canyon University has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission continuously since 1968. HLC reaffirmed GCU’s accreditation in June 2021; the next comprehensive visit is scheduled for 2026-2027.
Nursing program accreditation. The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits both the MSN: Acute Care Nurse Practitioner with an Emphasis in Adult Gerontology and the Post-MSN: Acute Care Nurse Practitioner with an Emphasis in Adult Gerontology certificate. This matters directly: ANCC accepts post-graduate certificate applicants only from programs with APRN program accreditation, and CCNE accreditation of the certificate satisfies that.
State nursing board approval. Both the MSN and Post-MSN AGACNP options are approved by the Arizona State Board of Nursing. The MSN is also approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing.
Certification eligibility. Graduates of either pathway may sit for one of two AGACNP examinations:
- ANCC
- AACN
Students choose which exam to pursue. GCU does not administer either exam. GCU reports an 85% pass rate across all 2025 testers (88 of 103), noting the program may exclude testers who sit more than two years after completion, per CCNE Standard IV-D.
State authorization
Availability vs. licensure disclosure conflict: GCU maintains a 59-jurisdiction licensure disclosure table showing the program “Meets – may directly certify” in most states, including many where the program is not actually offered. Enrollment availability is far narrower than the disclosure table implies. The MSN is offered in 16 states and the certificate in 14. GCU’s disclosures separately flag Kansas, Louisiana, American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Marshall Islands as “Does Not Meet – restricted for enrollment.” Use the program page’s state list, not the disclosure table, to determine whether you can enroll.
GCU also notes that the program is not designed to meet prescriptive authority requirements in any state; prescriptive authority is a separate, state-by-state application after APRN licensure.
GCU College of Nursing accreditation page | MSN state disclosures | Certificate state disclosures
Additional ACNP Programs for Arizona Residents
- Arizona State University - Phoenix
- University of Arizona - Tucson